Payroll Software for Small Business (2026)
The cheapest payroll software for small business with 10 employees, of the 11 plans we priced, is Patriot Full Service at $87 a month, then Roll by ADP at $89 and Square Payroll at $95, on each provider's published monthly price, checked October 23, 2026.
- Lowest bill at 10 employees: Patriot Full Service, extra states cost $12 a month each
- Employees and contractors at one rate, all 50 states included: Roll by ADP
- Already on Square POS: Square Payroll, multistate and next-day deposit included
- Gusto Simple is 8th at $119 a month and covers one state
Payroll software for small business ranked by cost at 10 employees
Patriot Full Service is the cheapest of the 11 full-service payroll plans we priced, at $87 a month for 10 employees, and Rippling is the most expensive at $220. Every plan below calculates pay, deposits and files federal and state payroll taxes, and issues W-2s. Each provider enters with its cheapest plan that does all of that.
| # | Provider | monthly price for 10 employees | Best for | Main limit | Link |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | Patriot Full Service | $87 | Lowest bill at 10 | Each extra state costs more | Visit Patriot Software Payroll (opens in a new tab) |
| 2 | Roll by ADP | $89 | Employees and contractors at one rate | Mobile app first; support by chat | Visit ADP (opens in a new tab) |
| 3 | Square Payroll | $95 | Square POS users | Per-person fee higher than Patriot | Visit Square Payroll (opens in a new tab) |
| 4 | SurePayroll | $99 | Teams of 1 to 3 | Year-end W-2 fees billed on top | Visit SurePayroll (opens in a new tab) |
| 5 | Wave Payroll | $100 | Wave accounting users | Does not file 1099s | Visit Wave Payroll (opens in a new tab) |
| 6 | Homebase Payroll | $109 | Hourly teams that schedule shifts | Free Basic plan: one location, 10 people | Visit Homebase (opens in a new tab) |
| 6 | OnPay | $109 | Multistate and local filing on one plan | Base fee above the top five | Visit OnPay (opens in a new tab) |
| 8 | Gusto Simple | $119 | One-state teams | Simple covers one state only | Visit Gusto (opens in a new tab) |
| 9 | QuickBooks Workforce Payroll | $120 | QuickBooks Online users | No free trial on payroll plans | Visit QuickBooks Payroll (opens in a new tab) |
| 10 | Paycor Basic | $149 | Upgrading to Paycor HR plans later | Highest base fee we priced | Visit Paycor (opens in a new tab) |
| 11 | Rippling (platform + payroll) | $220 | HR, IT and payroll in one system | Price from Rippling's blog; most modules quoted | Visit Rippling (opens in a new tab) |
Not every provider on the market. How we rank
The price is the base fee plus 10 per-person fees, billed monthly, for one state, at the regular price, so a free first month doesn’t change the order. RUN Powered by ADP and Paychex aren’t ranked because both sell payroll by quote only, and Justworks isn’t ranked because its pricing page blocked our check. Deel’s US payroll is left out because Deel calls it self-service and doesn’t say it files your taxes.
What each plan includes and where it costs extra
The cheapest bill isn’t always the cheapest plan for you: an extra state, faster deposits or contractor payments can add to it.
| Provider | Base + per person | More than one state | Fastest direct deposit | Contractors |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Patriot Full Service | $37 + $5 | $12 a month per extra state | 2-day, free for qualifying customers | Paid through payroll at the same per-worker fee |
| Roll by ADP | $39 + $5 | All 50 states included | Same-day or next-day | Same per-person fee as employees |
| Square Payroll | $35 + $6 | Included | Next-day | Contractor-only plan: $6 per person |
| SurePayroll | $29 + $7 | $9.99 a month, plus a fee where local taxes apply | 2-day | Same per-worker fee; 1099s billed at year end |
| Wave Payroll | $40 + $6 | Not stated | Free direct deposit; speed not stated | $6 each; Wave doesn’t file 1099s |
| OnPay | $49 + $6 | Included, no per-state fee listed | Not stated | 1099s included |
| Homebase Payroll | $49 + $6 | Not stated | Next-day payroll | 1099s included |
| Gusto Simple | $49 + $7 | Needs Plus: $99 + $12 | Next-day add-on: $15 + $3 | Not stated on the plan |
| QuickBooks Workforce Payroll | $50 + $7 | Not stated | Next-day (same-day on Premium) | Unlimited 1099 e-filing |
| Paycor Basic | $99 + $5 | Not stated | Direct deposit; speed not stated | Not stated |
| Rippling | $40 + $8 platform, + $10 payroll | Not stated | Not stated | Not stated |
Each provider in rank order
Patriot, Roll and Square are the three cheapest at 10 employees, all within $8 a month of each other.
Patriot Full Service
Patriot Full Service is the lowest bill at 10 employees: $87 a month. That buys federal, state and local tax filing and deposits, plus year-end 940, 941, W-2 and W-3 filings at no extra fee. Support is US-based by phone, email and chat on weekdays. The catch is multistate: each extra state adds $12 a month, so a team in three states pays more than Roll.
Roll by ADP
Roll by ADP costs $89 a month for 10 people, and it pays W-2 employees and 1099 contractors at the same $5 rate in all 50 states. Roll runs mainly through a mobile app with chat support, has no long-term contract, and gives new customers three months free. Roll is a separate product from RUN Powered by ADP, which ADP sells by quote; ADP payroll pricing covers both. Roll is the pick for an owner who runs payroll from a phone and pays people in several states.
Square Payroll
Square Payroll costs $95 a month for 10 employees, with multistate filing and next-day deposit included. Tip tracking and timecard import come from Square POS, which is the reason to choose it. The per-person fee is $6, so Square drops behind Patriot and Roll as the team grows.
SurePayroll
SurePayroll costs $99 a month for 10 employees on its $29 base. The lowest base fee here makes it the cheapest plan for 1 to 3 people. W-2 and 1099 forms are billed once a year at $50 plus $5 per form, and the pricing page also shows a second card that starts at $39.
Wave Payroll
Wave Payroll costs $100 a month for 10 employees and files your state and IRS payroll taxes, but not your 1099s. Wave suits a business already keeping its books in Wave. Contractors cost $6 each per month.
OnPay
OnPay costs $109 a month for 10 employees on its one plan, which includes federal, state and local filings, W-2s, 1099s and pay in as many states as you need with no per-state fee listed. OnPay says it has no setup fees and gives one month free. For a team spread across states, OnPay’s flat terms can beat Patriot once Patriot’s state fees are added.
Homebase Payroll
Homebase Payroll costs $109 a month for 10 employees, the same as OnPay, and adds tax filing, W-2s, 1099s, tip pooling and next-day payroll to Homebase’s scheduling app. The free Homebase Basic plan covers one location and up to 10 employees, so an 11th hire or a second location means a paid plan.
Gusto Simple
Gusto Simple costs $119 a month for 10 employees, 8th of the 11 on price. Simple includes unlimited payrolls and tax filings and payments, but only in one state; a second state needs Gusto Plus at $219 for 10 people. Gusto’s plans and fees, including next-day pay and contractor add-ons, are broken out on their own page. Against the biggest name in payroll, see ADP vs Gusto.
QuickBooks Workforce Payroll
QuickBooks Workforce Payroll costs $120 a month for 10 employees, with next-day direct deposit and unlimited 1099 e-filing. The plan makes sense when your books are already in QuickBooks Online. QuickBooks Payroll pricing comes with no free trial on payroll plans; the offer is a lower base fee for three months. QuickBooks and Gusto Simple are $1 a month apart at 10 people, so Gusto or QuickBooks comes down to where your books already live.
Paycor Basic
Paycor Basic costs $149 a month for 10 employees: the highest base fee here at $99, and a $5 per-person fee, the same as Patriot and Roll, so Paycor never closes the gap with them at any headcount. Paycor Basic includes federal and state tax filing and direct deposit with no setup fee.
Rippling
Rippling costs $220 a month for 10 employees: a $40 base fee, $8 per person for the platform and $10 per person for payroll billed monthly. Those payroll figures come from Rippling’s own blog, because the Rippling pricing page quotes payroll by request. Rippling is built for companies that want HR, IT and payroll in one system; for payroll alone it costs the most here. Rippling vs Gusto is the closer comparison.
How much does payroll software cost for a small business?
Full-service payroll software costs $87–$220 a month for 10 employees across the 11 plans we priced. Below 5 people the base fee decides the order; above 10 the per-person fee does.
| Provider | 1 person | 5 people | 10 people | 25 people |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Patriot Full Service | $42 | $62 | $87 | $162 |
| Roll by ADP | $44 | $64 | $89 | $164 |
| Square Payroll | $41 | $65 | $95 | $185 |
| SurePayroll | $36 | $64 | $99 | $204 |
| Wave Payroll | $46 | $70 | $100 | $190 |
For self-file and contractor-only plans too, see every payroll plan ranked by cost at 1, 5 and 10 people. If you’re hiring your first person, payroll for one employee has its own ranking, where SurePayroll comes first. Payroll fees sit on top of the taxes themselves; the employer payroll tax calculator shows those for your team.
Can I just use QuickBooks for payroll?
Yes: QuickBooks sells payroll on its own, and Workforce Payroll costs $50 a month plus $7 per employee. At 10 employees that is $120 a month, or $33 more than Patriot Full Service. Intuit’s pages don’t say payroll-only needs QuickBooks Online accounting, and Intuit also sells accounting and payroll bundles.
Which payroll plans don’t file taxes for you?
Patriot Basic and Payroll4Free’s free software calculate paychecks but leave tax deposits and filings to you, which is why neither is in this ranking. Patriot Basic costs $17 a month plus $4 per person. Payroll4Free is $0 for 9 or fewer people paid at most monthly, runs on Windows, and doesn’t publish the price of its tax service. Both suit someone who already knows the deposit schedule and filing deadlines.
How to choose payroll software
Pick on the one fact about your business that changes the bill most.
- If you run Square POS or need tips imported, take Square Payroll; restaurant payroll software has its own ranking.
- If you pay people in more than one state, compare Roll and OnPay, which include every state, against Patriot plus its state fees.
- If half your team are contractors, Roll charges the same $5 for both.
- If you also need benefits and HR, payroll software alone won’t cover it: look at HR software for small business or PEO services.
- If you’re comparing the big quote-only names, ADP vs Paychex covers what they sell.
Frequently asked questions
Can I just use QuickBooks for payroll?
Yes. QuickBooks sells payroll on its own: Workforce Payroll costs $50 a month plus $7 per employee, or $120 a month for 10 people.
Is Payroll4Free really free?
The software is free if you pay 9 or fewer people no more than once a month, but you deposit and file the payroll taxes yourself. Its optional tax service has no published price.
How much do payroll services typically cost for a small business?
Full-service payroll costs $87–$220 a month for 10 employees across the 11 plans we priced, checked October 23, 2026. Most of that bill is the per-person fee once you pass a handful of people.
What is payroll software used for?
Payroll software calculates each paycheck and the taxes withheld from it and pays your team by direct deposit. Full-service plans also deposit and file your federal and state payroll taxes and issue W-2s.